Research Guides: Library DIY: Newspaper Articles

Assigned to: Lisa

Notes:

I have not edited the text yet; I will need to add TAMU-CC databases.

TAMU-SA's screenshot shows how to filter for newspapers and an example of the Newspaper icon in the results list.

I am looking for newspaper articles.

Newspapers are a source for:

coverage of current or very recent events
eyewitness accounts of an event
in-depth coverage of local issues (in local or regional newspapers)
the public's reaction to a specific event or issue
the media's current portrayal, or portrayal over time, of a specific issue

You can read many newspapers on the open web, but some now charge money either to read from older issues or if you read more than a certain number in a month. You can get access to many newspapers online through the library.

Current newspapers at Bell Library

The library provides online access to many newspapers reporting current news. Here are the best databases to search for current newspaper articles.

Access World News This link opens in a new window
News articles from the 1980s to present, from a wide variety of media, including newspapers, newswires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, periodicals, videos, and web-only content. Includes over 400 U.S. newspapers and over 1000 international newspapers. Includes Corpus Christi Caller-Times from 1883-2021.
ProQuest News Databases This link opens in a new window
Cross search 4 news databases including many local and regional newspapers from the U.S., Canada, Latin America, Asia, and throughout the world.

Historical newspapers at Bell Library

The library offers access to historical news content through databases including:

Access World News This link opens in a new window
News articles from the 1980s to present, from a wide variety of media, including newspapers, newswires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, periodicals, videos, and web-only content. Includes over 400 U.S. newspapers and over 1000 international newspapers. Includes Corpus Christi Caller-Times from 1883-2021.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Collection of historical newspapers including Chicago Defender (1909 - 1975), Chicago tribune (1849 - 2015), The Guardian and The Observer (1791 - 2003), LA Times (1881 - 2015), New York Times (1851 - 2020), Wall Street Journal (1889 - 2012), The Washington Post (1877 - 2008), and the New York Tribune/Herald Tribune (1841 - 1962).
America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Includes Early American newspapers, Series 1 – 5 (1690 – 1922) and Hispanic American Newspapers (1808 - 1980). Part of the Archive of Americana. Unlimited simultaneous users allowed. Content is updated monthly

More historical newspaper resources
More sources for historical newspapers, from the News and Newspapers Research Guide.

I am looking for a specific newspaper.

The best way to see if Bell Library has a subscription to a specific newspaper is to search by the name of the newspaper in the library's Quick Search.

This screenshot shows what you would see if you did a Quick Search for the New York Times.

[need screenshot]