Research Guides: Library DIY: Information About a Specific Journal

I Need Information about a Specific Journal

If you need to find out more about a specific journal

Is it peer reviewed?
What's their editorial policy?
What are their submission policies?
What is the scope and focus of the journal?

Looking at the publication record in a database and the publisher's web site are two places to start.

Publication Record in a Database

By clicking on the publication title in an article record in a database, it will tell you if the journal is scholarly and/or peer reviewed. It may also give you a link to the publisher to find out more. For example, the image below shows publication details for Nursing Standard which includes the information that the journal is a scholarly journal and peer reviewed.

This process may look different in other databases, but the concept is the same. Look for the title of the journal in the article record, then click it to get more information.

Other Ways to Find Journal Information

Library databases will not always provide all the information you need about a journal, but there are other ways to find information about journals' publishing practices.

Ulrich's Periodicals Directory This link opens in a new window
Directory of magazines, journals, newspapers, newsletters, e-zines, and more. Browse by Subject or by Index. Includes updates on newly added periodical titles, cessations, title changes, and title mergers. Also has a Reading Room with some full text.
Unlimited simultaneous users allowed.
Content is updated irregularly.

Google
Try a Google search using the title of the journal.
Look for a link to the journal's home page in your results list.
From a journal's home page, see if you can find a link labeled "About the Journal" or maybe a page described as "Guidelines for Authors" or "Guidelines for Submissions."
Look for the words "peer review" or similar phrases such as "blind review" (which implies peer review) to determine if the journal requires submitted articles to undergo peer review.