Skip to Main Content

Library DIY

Peer-Reviewed Articles

What is a peer reviewed article?

A peer-reviewed article is a scholarly article that has undergone evaluation by experts in the same field before it is published in an academic or professional journal. This review process, known as peer review, ensures the quality, validity, originality, and accuracy of the research.

How the peer review process works

  1. Submission: The author submits their manuscript to a relevant academic journal.
  2. Editorial Review: The journal's editor reviews the manuscript for quality and relevance to determine if it warrants peer review.
  3. Review by Experts: If the editor finds the manuscript suitable, it is sent to subject matter experts (peers) for review.
  4. Evaluation: These experts assess the manuscript for errors, research design, methodology, significance, originality, and logical reasoning.
  5. Feedback: The reviewers provide feedback to the author, suggesting revisions, clarifications, or additional research as needed.
  6. Re-review (if necessary): Sometimes revisions may be sent back to the reviewers for additional approval after changes have been made.
  7. Final Approval: Once reviewers are satisfied with the revisions, the article is approved for publication.

Purpose of Peer-Reviewed Articles

Peer-reviewed articles serve as a foundation for academic research by ensuring:

  • The research is methodologically sound.
  • Findings are accurate and reliable.
  • The article adds meaningful knowledge to the field of study.

These articles are often used by researchers, academics, and professionals to inform their own studies, research, or practices because they are considered credible and evidence-based. Peer-reviewed articles are commonly published in academic journals across disciplines such as the sciences, social sciences, medicine, education, and humanities.

Not everyone uses the term "peer reviewed" to describe this kind of article. You might hear other words like:

  • Academic
  • Scholarly
  • Refereed

If you aren't sure whether you need peer reviewed articles for an assignment, check with your professor!

Common Characteristics of Peer Reviewed Articles:

  • Originality and Contribution: Peer-reviewed articles contribute new knowledge, insights, or perspectives to the field. They focus on original research, theoretical development, or innovative approaches.
  • Data and Evidence-Based: They are supported by evidence derived from systematic research, experiments, or analysis. This allows other researchers to verify and build upon their findings.
  • Technical terminology / complex use of language: Authors tend to use technical terms and complex language because the audience is largely other scholars in the field..
  • Citations and References: They include thorough references to prior research, demonstrating the author’s understanding of the field and situating the research within existing literature.
  • Objective and Unbiased: Good peer-reviewed articles maintain objectivity, presenting findings and interpretations without personal bias. They acknowledge limitations or conflicting evidence where appropriate.

Peer-Review in 3 minutes

Filtering for Peer Reviewed Resources

There are a number of ways to guarantee that what you're finding in your search results are peer reviewed. Below we'll go over two examples with brief videos to help.

This first example is connected to conducting a search in the library's Quick Search and databases.

Filtering in Quick Search

  • Located on the library's homepage, the Quick Search box searches just about everything the library owns.
  • Clicking on the search box, you'll notice a new menu is revealed. Included in this menu is a check box labeled "Peer Reviewed" - checking this box will ensure your results only include peer reviewed resources.
  • Forgot to click the box? No worries, search for your topic and you'll notice a filter menu on the left side of the results page. Towards the top of this menu, you'll find the "Peer Reviewed" check box.

Check out the video below for a guide on how to do the steps mentioned here.

Filtering in Databases

  • Most databases also have a "Peer Reviewed" check box, it's just a matter of finding it.
  • If you don't see the option to filter for only peer reviewed titles on the main search page, be sure to check the filter menu once you've conducted your search.

Note: some databases will use the terms "scholarly" or "referred" instead of "peer reviewed" but they can often mean the same thing in some databases.

Check out the video below for a guide on how to do the steps mentioned here.

This second example focuses on filtering for databases that carry peer reviewed resources from the A-Z Database List. 

Filtering by Type

  • Once you've accessed the A-Z Database List, you'll see four different drop down menu options across the page near the top: Database Title / Keyword, Subjects, Type, Vendors.
  • Click on the drop down arrow for "Types" and scan through the list for "Peer-Reviewed / Scholarly Sources."
  • Don't forget to click the "Search" button.
  • Your results list will now be reduced to databases that carry peer reviewed resources.

Filtering by Type & Subjects

  • Proceed with the steps listed above, but before hitting "Search" scan through the "Subjects" drop down list.
  • You can use the "Subjects" list to select different subject areas like, but not limited to, Art, Biology, History, Mexican American Studies, Psychology, and more.
  • After you have selected both "Peer-Reviewed / Scholarly Sources" and your selected subject, click "Search."
  • Your results will now be databases in your selected subjects that carry peer reviewed resources.