Course Library: Building Resource Lists in Canvas

You can add items in a variety of ways. Read on for an explanation of each of the options under the + Add menu.

Click "Add" to add a new item, new section, or a new note.

When adding an item, choose from: Search the library: Add readings from the library's collection. Add from favorites: Add an item from your favorites list. Upload files: Upload your own personal file. (Please use only if this is an item the library does not own. Using library links avoids copyright issues and provides the library with accurate information about how our subscriptions are used.) Add using ISBN: Add books by the ISBN number (this option is not preferred; please search the library instead). Import references: NOTE: This option is unreliable and not supported by the library at this time Manual entry: New Items (usually books) that the library does not own. Library staff will contact you to discuss your request. You can also add a new section or a new note from this menu.

 

You can search for articles, books, e-books, videos, and other library materials using the Add > Search the library option.

1. Click Add > Search the library
2. A window opens with a search box. By default, your search will include both full text and non-full text items. If you want to only identify online full text options, uncheck the box.
3. An advanced search mode is available, allowing you to search by title, author, ISBN, and ISSN.

Please note that if you choose to place physical copies of books, DVDs, or personal items on reserve at the Circulation Desk in the library, these require additional processing time. The library will reach out with any follow-up questions.

You can also upload files to your Course Library.

Examples of files you might upload to your Course Library include:

• Powerpoints from lectures
• Lecture notes
• Documents you have authored
• Documents by other authors (copyright permission required)

If you are uploading a journal article or a book chapter, search the library first!

See if the library owns this publication. If we own it, add it from your "Search the library" results into your course library. This avoids all issue of copyright permission and accessibility and also provides important usage statistics to the library.

To upload a file:

1. Click +Add.
2. Choose "Upload files."
3. From the dropdown under file type, choose File or Folder. (Note that if you choose to upload a folder, Course Library will upload the files individually, not the folder itself.)
4. Drag and drop a file into the gray box, or use the link to browse for a file.
5. The document type and title will be added automatically, but you can edit these if you wish.
6. Choose the copyright option that best fits your use. See below for more information. Click Next.
7. Add optional details if you wish. Click Next.
8. Choose the section of your reading list to add the file to. You can also add a note for students or a tag.
9. Click Add.

Completing the section on copyright information

When uploading files, you will be asked to choose one of the following options:

 

This file was authored by me and does not require copyright clearance.

This option may seem self-explanatory. You are the copyright holder and can share the material in any way you see fit. However, in some cases, when you agree to have your work published in a journal, you give up your copyright to the publisher. For published works, even those authored by you, it is still best to link to the library's version, if available, or request that we purchase permission.

I have permission from the copyright holder to use this file in my class.

Use this option when you have sought permission from an author or publisher to use material not created by you in your class.

I have reviewed the Fair Use Guidelines and have determined that the uploaded file meets the guidelines for fair use.

This option uses the Fair Use guidelines as defined by U.S. Copyright Law to declare that, even though you do not have the copyright for this item, your intended use is "fair" and allowable. Follow the link to the guidelines and use the Fair Use Evaluator tool to determine whether or not you can use the material in your course. If you can, then select this option!

I request that the library seek copyright clearance to use this for my class. (Must be requested each semester.)

This is the option to choose if you are not the author, your use does not qualify as "fair use," and you do not have the permission of the copyright holder. The library will attempt to purchase copyright licensing for you if you choose this option.

You will normally use the library search or Cite It to add materials but what if you want to add something we don't own and which is not free on the web?

You can use Manual Entry to ask us to purchase items not already owned by the library that you want to make available for your students to use in your course. The library will not purchase textbooks, but we will consider purchasing academic books that are not published explicitly as textbooks to be used as course materials.

To add an item using Manual Entry:

1. Click + Add > Manual entry.
2. Select the Type of material from the dropdown list and provide the title of the item. Click Next.
3. Provide whatever item details you want to include. Author, ISBN, and edition are extremely helpful for us! Click Next.
4. Add the item to the section of your course library where you would like it to appear. You can also add any note for students that you want to include.
5. Add the Purchase Request tag by clicking in the Add tag space and choosing Purchase Request from the dropdown.
6. Click Add.

When you add a book that the library does not own, you should see a purchase request dialog box:

The library cannot guarantee that we can purchase these items, but we will give all requests due consideration, communicating with you throughout the process.

If we are able to purchase, turnaround time varies. To ensure items will be available to your class on time, submit requests as early as possible.

To request materials for the library's collection but NOT for your course, use this form.

If you would prefer to bring a personal copy to the library for us to put on reserve for your students, you can choose the second option shown in the illustration above. You will then need to bring the item to the library's Circulation Desk. Be advised that we will be placing a barcode and a label on the book so that it can be shelved with our course reserves and checked out. Although we don't purchase textbooks, we will place copies of textbooks you provide on course reserve.

Questions? Email libreserves@tamucc.edu.

You can also add resources from the items you've collected in your Favorites.

To add an item from your favorites, follow these steps:

1. Click Add > Add from favorites.
2. Mouse over the item you want to add. A handle appears on the left hand side, and a plus sign appears on the right hand side.
3. Drag and drop using the handle on the left hand side of the item to drag the item to the place where you want it in the list.
4. Alternatively, use the plus sign to open a set of options that allow you to add the item to your list. Choose the section where you want to place the item.
5. Click Add & Edit if you want to change anything after adding, or click Add if no edits are required.

Visit this page to learn more about how to add items to your Favorites.

The Import references function does not perform dependably and is not supported by the library at this time. Instead, it's recommended that you use the "Search the Library" function to add items from a bibliography by searching for them individually by title.

If the item you want doesn't show up in the results, add using the "Manual Entry" option and we will investigate.