Skip to main content

Library News

Have you heard the latest?

New MakerSpace Name!

text with background image of fireworks exploding

The I-Create Lab will be creative hub for students, faculty, staff and the Corpus Christi community. A space where everyone can come and work on anything, from personal objects to school projects and where the only limits are how far your imagination can take you.

Opening in January 2019!

History Harvest

black and white historical photo of three men standing on the wing of a military airplane

Help strengthen our community history. Bring letters, photographs, videos and other documents to the South Texas: iRemember History Harvest.

Archivists from the Mary and Jeff Bell Library will assess materials to determine if they are a good match for the archives' collecting scope. If you choose to donate, you will be provided with digital copies of the materials.

In honor of Veteran's Day
Saturday, November 10
10:00 am - 12:00 pm
University Center Swordfish Room #324

For more information, call 361.825.4500 or email specialcollections@tamucc.edu

Construction Update

library media center doors with signs about being under construction

What’s that hammering you hear? Construction has begun on the Bell Library’s new MakerSpace! What's a MakerSpace you ask? It is a place for innovation, creativity and collaboration, where you can create anything you can think of. Your only limits are your imagination.

We’re hoping to open this new, awesome lab in January 2019. Check back soon for more information, but in the meantime, please pardon our noise and dust!

Find more details about the new Library MakerSpace.

Camp 72

movie still of woman staring into distance

Come watch a screening of Camp 72, a documentary about a quest for healing and justice after war. Tuesday, October 23 from 4:00-6:00 pm in the UC Lonestar Ballroom. Following the screening, Seema Mathur and Massa Washington will conduct a Q&A session.

Presented by The College of Liberal Arts and The Mary and Jeff Bell Library.

Open Education Conversation

Open Educational Resources Task Force and the Center for Faculty Excellence present: Open Education: A Conversation with Dr. David Wiley

Monday, October 22, 2018
UC Legacy Room 145
Reception @ 2:30 pm
WebEx Presentation 3-4 pm

RSVP @ CFE.TAMUCC.EDU

Dr. Wiley is Chief Academic Officer of Lumen Learning, an organization dedicated to increasing student success, reinvigorating pedagogy, and improving the affordability of education through the adoption of open educational resources by schools, community and state colleges, and universities. He is also currently the Education Fellow at Creative Commons, an Ashoka Fellow, and adjunct faculty in Brigham Young University's graduate program in Instructional Psychology and Technology, where he leads the Open Education Group.

For more about Dr. Wiley, visit his website at: http://www.davidwiley.com

New Super Quiet Study Room

Super Quiet Study Room being constructed

Are you curious about the large room being constructed in the back corner of the 1st Floor of the Library? It’s our new Super Quiet Study Room!

The previous Super Quiet Study Room was located on the 2nd Floor but that location is being converted into our new MakerSpace. The new Super Quiet Study Room is part of a series of renovations taking place over the next several months. The room will be bigger with more seating and desks than the old room.

Call for Nominations

Image of Dr. Murphy Smith speaking at the Outstanding Author Series Spring 2018

Each fall and spring semester a published faculty member is identified and offered a chance to speak at the Library’s Outstanding Author Series. Designed to help promote research and creative activity on campus and encourage communication about research interests and potential collaborations, the event provides an opportunity to share current research projects and publication history. We also allow time for a short question and answer period and light refreshments.

Nominations (and self-nominations) will be accepted through October 2, 2018. Once we have the nominees gathered, the Library Committee will select a winner.

Media Center Closed for Construction

To prepare for the construction of the new Makerspace, we will be closing the Media Center beginning Tuesday, September 4th and it will remain closed for the remainder of the Fall semester. Laptop checkout will move to the Circulation Desk and laptops will be available during normal library working hours.

Ask Us for IT Help

Picture of staff at the Ask Us Desk

We’re making lots of changes this semester! We are excited to announce that we have invited folks from the IT Helpdesk to join us in the library. Seven days a week, there will be someone to help with your IT questions at the Ask Us Desk in the library. Want to learn more? Stop in drop by the Desk or reach out to us online and Ask!

New TexShare Databases

TexShare Logo

TexShare has announced new resources and we’ve added them to our Database list. Thanks to this program, we now have access to: Gale Opposing Viewpoints in Context, ChiltonLibrary (for auto repairs). Business Continuity and Disaster Recovery Resource Center, Consumer Health Complete, Referencia Latina, and Sustainability Reference Center.

 

Google Scholar and Library Research

Screen shot of Bell Library Online Tutorials Slide

Check out this tip when using Google Scholar from off-campus! This clip will walk you through linking to your library resources when searching Google Scholar. :)

Click here to view clip

The Makerspace is Coming!

Media Center Hours are Changing - The Makerspace is Coming

The Media department will be closed on weekends and open Monday - Friday 7:30 a.m. - 7:00 p.m. We’re excitedly bringing a Makerspace to the library for all of your innovative needs. As more information becomes available, you’ll be one of the first to know!

You spoke, We listened!

New Sunday Hours

Beginning on May 20th, the library will begin opening and closing earlier on Sundays. The library will be closed May 26th - 28th for the Holiday Weekend. Summer hours (and those earlier Sundays) will be in place Tuesday, May 29th. Got questions? Ask Us!

Keep those suggestions coming!

Congratulations Shelby!

Shelby Gonzalez and Dr. Pat Carroll

We are very proud of Shelby Gonzalez, our Special Collections and Archives Department Library Specialist II, who was the winner of the 2018 Patrick J. Carroll History Student Engagement Award! Shelby also was awarded a Fall Graduate Scholarship for good academic standing.

As announced by the TAMU-CC Department of Humanities, "The Carroll Award is given annually to the History student who best typifies the values of intellectual, social, and civic engagement that Dr. Carroll demonstrated over his long professional career.  This year's award recognizes Shelby's exemplary work in the Special Collections Library, the classroom, and on the Hurricane Harvey Oral History Project."

Professor Laura Munoz nominated Shelby for the award, crediting her guidance and limitless service in the History M.A. graduate students' successful organization of the Hurricane Harvey Oral History Project. Dr. Munoz described the project as "an original and professional archival collection of oral histories that records and commemorates the university and local community response to Hurricane Harvey’s 2017 landfall in South Texas." With the guidance of Processing and Digital Assets Archivist, Alston Cobourn, Shelby has made the collection available at https://tamucc-ir.tdl.org/tamucc-ir/handle/1969.6/9282.

Well done, Shelby!

Crime Scene Demonstration

Crime Scene Demonstration

We excitedly hosted a Crime Scene Demo, organized by the Criminal Justice Department, on Wednesday, April 11th at noon. Complete with blood splatter, wounds designed and applied by members from the University’s Theatre Department, and a victim portrayed by President Kelly Quintanilla, the event was informative, engaging, and incredibly fascinating. To see photos, visit the University’s gallery at https://tinyurl.com/y88weofu. We've added some Crime Scene resources to the Criminal Justice Guide, take a look and see what we found!

Outstanding Authors Speaker Series

Outstanding Authors

We are excited to announce that Dr. Kathy Smith and Dr. Murphy Smith have been selected as the library's next Outstanding Authors. Join us on Wednesday, April 4th at 2:00 pm as we celebrate their work. We are excited to welcome our first speakers from the College of Business. The presentation will be followed by a reception with time for questions and conversations with our speakers.

Library Resources and Campus Closure

Power Outage Image

During Spring Break, the campus will be closed on March 14th for a planned power outage. System maintenance will require the campus to be without power for a few hours. Several library resources will be unavailable during this outage. Please plan accordingly. Have a safe and happy Spring Break!

Islander Pride!

Lauren Robinson

Research & Instruction Graduate Assistant Lauren Robinson was awarded the 2018 Sue Standford Texas History Student Award presented by the Book Finders (Corpus Christi) chapter of the American Association of University Women. Robinson, who was nominated by Dr. Robert Wooster for the award, received the honor for a research paper on Confederate nurses and her overall academic excellence. "It was so wonderful to be honored by this group, since my research emphasizes women and typically marginalized voices," Lauren said. She has also been awarded the Mirabal-Garza Endowed Scholarship in History for an oral history project focusing on her stepfather and his life, in particular his childhood experiences as a Mexican-American in South Texas. Congratulations, Lauren!

Dr. Hector P. Garcia Papers Return

Dr. Hector P. Garcia Papers Return

Our good friends from History Associates brought back the Dr. Hector P. Garcia papers. The papers and other items have been away for processing and digitization. There will be a formal welcome reception on Monday, February 19th from 4:00 – 5:30pm upstairs in the library. Original and selected digitized materials will be available for viewing. Join us and learn how this project will increase access to this collection.

What's This?

Suggestion Box Icon from Web Page

Not sure what this new icon is all about? At the bottom of the library’s page you can get to our Facebook, Twitter, and You Tube accounts. You can also check out computer availability (the monitor icon) and find out which labs have plenty of room. We’re pleased to announce this new one though…the little pad and pencil? It’s our virtual suggestion box! Got an idea or a concern? Let us know about it. If you’d like us to get back to you, leave your email and we’ll respond as quickly as we can.

Faculty Librarians

Edward Kownlsar Teaching 2018

University Procedures have been approved granting professional librarians faculty status. The librarians are honored to join the ranks of faculty here on the Island. Do you know your librarian?

Additions to the National Film Registry

Antonio Fuentes

Rare Films from TAMU-CC Archives Receive National Recognition

Motion picture films from the Antonio Rodriguez Fuentes and Josefina Barrera Fuentes Family Papers have been named to the National Film Registry. The films, which were preserved through a 2015 partnership with the Texas Archive of the Moving Image (TAMI), are among the 25 American films deemed "culturally, historically or aesthetically" significant.

Antonio Rodríguez Fuentes (1895-1988) and Josefina Barrera Fuentes (1898-1993) were longtime Corpus Christi residents who ranked among the most involved individuals in early local Mexican American community organizations. Mr. Fuentes was an avid amateur photographer.

The films named to the registry were shot with a French-made Pathex camera on 9.5mm film, a rare film format popular for a short time in the early 20th century, primarily in Europe. They can be viewed at https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCbn3S-_nftnSJ_2E77EPgrw. More information about the papers is available at http://library.tamucc.edu/dept/special/Fuentes.html

Connect with Special Collections and Archives

Want to keep up with Special Collections and Archives? They've expanded their space and are working on some exciting new things! Check out their progress on Instagram.

Special Collections and Archives

Summer Edition of the InfoWave

Summer Edition of the InfoWave

Check out the latest edition of the library's newsletter - Learn about resources, services and changes to your campus library. Want to suggest a story? Let us know bell.library@tamucc.edu

Searching has Changed!

Summon Screen Shot

Searching has Changed!

We’ve changed the search platform used in a Quick Search. The changes will be most obvious in the results list and the Journals list. This will offer better search results and improve linking to library content. Take a look around and see what you think!

If you have questions or if you need any assistance, please reach out to the Ask Us Desk or stop by and see a librarian.

Just can’t handle the new look? The old way of searching will be available through June 30th. You can search here until then: http://bit.ly/2sHoLqM

Islander Cell Phone Photography Show

Cell Phone Photography Show

Don't miss the Islander Cell Phone Photography Show. Faculty, Staff and Students have captured some amazing things with their cell phones. The exhibit will be in the library until September 15th. For more information, bell.library@tamucc.edu