Research Guides: Library DIY: Possible Topics

Background research helps develop a more effective topic as well as brainstorm for better search terms or keywords.

Your instructor is a great resource! They understand your assignment and can provide great advice about the topic and how to frame it.
Come to the the Mary and Jeff Bell Library and talk to a librarian or chat, email or text a librarian at Ask Us Live Chat - 24/7!
If there are journals related to the general area you are studying, look through recent tables of contents for ideas and background information on possible topics. You can also browse our Research Guides to find suggested journals and databases for your subject.

Here are a few useful databases for exploring potential topics:.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Provides online reference from digitized reference sources. Searchable by reference source, by subject, or across all sources. Includes a concept mapping function to assist in broadening or narrowing searches. Reliable, reputable reference sources. Citation assistance is available for the most popular formats.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher provides in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. Reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research. Graphics, photos and short "sidebar" features round out the reports. Shorter "Hot Topics" articles provide a solid introduction to subjects most in demand by students.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Database covering social issues with Informed, differing views help learners develop critical-thinking skills and draw their own conclusions. A rich resource for debaters it includes pro/con viewpoints, reference articles, interactive maps, infographics, and more.